You can normally recover files you've accidentally deleted from network storage areas (which includes both the M: and N: drives) yourself.
You can also revert to previous versions of files. You may also be able to recover files from clusters or personal machines. Here is how to do it.
The most common way documents can get lost is working on attachments from emails and not saving them first (to your M Drive or a USB stick). However, email attachments are saved to a hidden temporary folder.
The link under 'Attachments' is to a tool which will search known locations where these files may “hide” and copy them to a new folder on your desktop.
This process may take around 20 mins to complete. Unfortunately there is no guarantee that your file can be recovered.
OneDrive and SharePoint
If you accidentally delete a file in OneDrive you can restore it from the OneDrive recycle bin (follow these instructions on the Microsoft support website):
You can also restore a previous version of a file in OneDrive - follow these instructions on the Microsoft support website
If you need to restore a file or a previous version in a SharePoint site then please contact the site owner who will be able to restore it on your behalf.
Windows stores previous versions of documents and deleted ones for between 2 to 3 weeks (sometimes longer).
To recover a file:
You can recover previous versions of a file in a similar way, by right-clicking on the file rather than the folder.
This method works for files on supported network drives, e.g. your Home Directory (M: drive) and the Shared Directory (N: drive). Departmentally administered drives may have a different policy in place.
The file needs to have been saved to the M or N drive for 24 hours for this facility to work.